Application for Visa

EU and Schengen citizens do not need visa to enter the territory of the Slovak Republic. They just need their passport or ID card.

In order to obtain Schengen Visa the third-country nationals need invitation letter.

For consular and travel visa information, please check the web-site of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Slovak Republic

Upon request of any conference participant, the conference secretary can issue and send a formal invitation for the conference after his/her regular registration. We do not provide any help with visa applications.

Please, send your request for a formal invitation letter including following information:

  • First name:
  • Surname:
  • Date of birth:
  • Place of birth:
  • Passport number:
  • Nationality:
  • Permanent address:
  • Address of the employer:
  • Position at the university/company:
  • Name and address of a hotel during the stay in Slovakia:

by an e-mail to:

How to apply for Slovak visa?

Foreigners who are subject to visa requirements and who wish to enter the Schengen Area with the primary purpose of stay in Slovakia are required to submit an application for visa at the local Slovak Embassy or Consulate-General. If the foreigner has a residence permit in other country than the country of his nationality, he/she can apply for visa at the Embassy / Consulate-General in the country of his current residence.

Foreigner should apply for visa as soon as possible, but not earlier than 3 months before the planned trip. The period for decision on the visa application is 15 calendar days.

A foreign national who has been granted visa must report the beginning, location and estimated length of residence at the competent Alien Police Department within three days from the entry in the territory of the Slovak Republic. If the foreign national is accommodated in a hotel or other accommodation facility, the provider of accommodation bears this obligation.

Citizens of countries with which there are signed agreements by the European Community on easier and faster granting of visas are exceptions. In these cases, the deadline for a decision is set at 10 days after the receipt of a complete visa application. The following countries have such an agreement with European Community: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Macedonia, Moldova, Russia, Serbia, Ukraine.

Citizen of the European Union who holds a valid identity card or passport is entitled without any conditions or formalities remain on the territory of the Slovak Republic three months from the date of entry into the territory of the Slovak Republic.

More information about visa process (detail and accurate information) can be obtained from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of his/her country, or at its consulates.